the ocean

February 1, 2008 at 2:20 am (Uncategorized)

The ocean is so deep and blue and lovely. I wondered what would be at the bottom, if I could swim to the depths of something, what would be there and how would I ever get there? How could I swim to the end of something? I was so scared to go alone to that place. But that is where freedom lied, and I had to get there somehow. I knew I had to. I saw something glimmering in the far distance and I wanted to chase it and hold and embrace it in the palm of my hand. I prayed to God that I would make it there. But God couldn’t hear me down here, I could barely hear my own thoughts, but somehow I pushed along. I pushed along and I didn’t know by what force other than my own two feet. I didn’t feel pain – no it wasn’t pain or sorrow or even courage – all I knew was that it wasn’t fear. No – it wasn’t fear. I wasn’t afraid! I wasn’t afraid anymore! I looked at my skin in awe. Who was I? What was I? How had I gotten to this place? I knew I had never been here before but I never wanted to home. I saw no one, but I could feel the sky within me.  You know, I never have known that freedom. I don’t know what that means. All I know is that is there in the distance, that bright shining place is something that only the ocean can offer.

Leave a comment